About

Hello everyone! I’m Elisabeth and I love making food, relaxing at home with my husband, and antiquing!

I was born and raised in Kirkland, Washington, an artistically inclined town northeast of Seattle.  Growing up I was fortunate enough to have lots of opportunities to cook and bake with my parents.  My parents valued teaching me basic domestic skills like cooking, baking, cleaning, gardening, home maintenance, and even the basic principles of home construction.  Both my parents were also very enthusiastic about history and how our communities and daily life have evolved over time, so I developed a huge passion for vintage and antique items.  Through my mother I also got the opportunity to learn about art and participate in many art classes while she worked on education programs with many of the local museums.

After graduating from the University of Washington’s architecture program, I worked for several years doing interior design, architecture, and facility management.  During this time, I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis after developing very unusual joint pain and fatigue that was preventing me from working.   Living with a chronic illness has a lot of ups and downs, but slowly I’m muddling my way through and figuring out how to make things work for me.

Currently, I’m living in West Seattle with my husband, two cats, and two dogs.  Aside from doing all the fun domestic things I will talk about in the blog, I enjoy spending my free time hiking with my husband and the dogs, sleeping in with the cats, and exploring my local community.  I also enjoy painting, drawing, and playing harp.

Looking forward to sharing stories with you!

Elisabeth